Krishna District at a Glance

Genesis of Krishna District : The English founded their settlement at Masulipatnam which was their headquarters in the year 1611 until they finally moved to Madras in 1641. At first, the district was administered by a chief and council at Masulipatnam but in 1794 Collectors, directly responsible to the Board of  Revenue, were appointed at Masulipatnam. Thus Krishna district has become one of the oldest British administrated areas of Andhra Pradesh.It was formerly called Masulapatnam district and in 1859 when the then Guntur district was abolished by adding  certain taluks to this district which was renamed as Krishna District after the mighty and holy river Krishna with its head quarters at Machilipatnam. Guntur district was separated from Krishna in 1904. Again in 1925 Krishna District was further divided into Krishna and West Godavari Districts. There were no significant further changes in its jurisdiction except some minor changes (in Divi Taluk and Munagala paragana).

Features and Delineation of Krishna District

The Krishna District is situated in the east of Andhra Pradesh, India. The borders of this district are West Godavari district in the East, Bay of Bengal in the South, Guntur and Nalgonda districts in the West and Khammam  district in the North directions.The total area is 8,727 square kilometers with a coast line of 88 Km and its Head Quarters is at Machilipatnam. The global location of Krishna District is between15o 43' N and 17o 10' N Latitude and 80o 0' and 81o 33' of E Longitude.

Krishna district has 4 Revenue Divisions, 50 Mandals, 1 Municipal Corporation (Vijayawda Municipal Corporation), 5 Municipalities as detailed below and 1005 Revenue villages.


Irrigation system in Krishna District

Administrative Divisions of Krishna  District



Krishna Delta System

NSP Left Canal System